When Your Job becomes a J-O-B

Standard

When you start referring to your job as a J-O-B, I think the universe may be trying to tell you something.

I’m at a pivot point in my professional life right now. The business I ran with my husband for the last ten years is winding down since he went back to the corporate world in December. Winding down at least in the sense of what it used to be, not necessarily what it could be in the future. Now that it is only mine, I have a more or less clean slate to rebuild it to what I would like and need it to be.

But I’m still working that out in my mind, so I do feel like I’m in some kind of entrepreneurial limbo. I find myself hesitating. Distraction comes easy, the path to forge forward not so much. I’m trying to be kind to myself, to allow myself a bit of space to feel things out, but I know that it can’t go on forever this way. I need to commit. I need to prove myself one way or the other.

So here’s my plan:

  • Do one thing. The most urgent one thing on the work to do list.
  • Do another.
  • Do another and repeat.

When there are no more urgent to do’s on the list,

  • Stop.
  • Listen. (Hear that voice? No? Close eyes. Listen harder.)
  • Do what it tells you.
  • Love yourself.

Alright world, I’m off to follow the plan. Hope you’ll join me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

